Do the Drill: Ikea Ung Drill

WE HAVE REDIRECTED OUR BLOG TO MOUSE + HINGE. PLEASE VISIT US THERE!

I’ve hopped onto the Ikea Ung Drill alteration bandwagon. Although it’s only plastic, it’s very versatile, and at only 29.99 (although I bought mine for 24.99) it’s a steal!

IKEA.com

IKEA Ung Drill

I pulled the glass out of my frame and painted it with Ceramcoat Antique White. I didn’t varnish the top because I wanted it to have the shabby chic look of painted wood.

My intent was to paint the glass with chalkboard paint, but it was so flimsy that it broke when I attempted to put it back into the frame. I ended up cutting a piece of canvas board to fit, and painting the non-canvas side with the chalkboard paint. It works ok, but the chalk tends to scratch the board up a bit.

IKEA Ung Drill Chalkboard

Other uses for the Ikea Ung Drill:

Ung Drill Display

The Scoop

Ung Drill Yellow

Piratas de Ikea

Ung Drill Corkboard

Cathie Filian

Ung Drill Decor

Decor Pad
2 Comments

  1. Christie
    Posted July 24, 2010 at 3:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    If I may ask….. what is an ung drill??

    • Posted July 24, 2010 at 4:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Good question! It’s just IKEA’s quirky Swedish name for the scrolly frame pictured here.

One Trackback

  1. By More Baroque Mirror for Your Home « Room to Think on August 15, 2010 at 10:16 am

    […] Baroque Mirror for Your Home Sarah previously posted an ‘Ung Drill’ Mirror project to explain the transformation of an Ikea scrolly mirror into a chalkboard. I recently found […]

Leave a Reply

