Mirror Mirror: Decoupage Mirror Frame

WE HAVE REDIRECTED OUR BLOG TO MOUSE + HINGE. PLEASE VISIT US THERE!

BEFORE AND AFTER

I bought the Ikea Malma mirror at a thrift store for $1 to use on the small gallery wall in Hailey’s room. It was painted with a flat green paint. I painted it with the glossy blue shown here, and sanded it down for a antiqued look, but it was definitely a diy fail.

BEFORE:

Mirror Before

I found a piece of scrapbook paper that matches the colors in Hailey’s room, and decided to make good use of my Mod Podge. Here are the steps I took, it was an easy project so don’t be insulted by the simplicity of these steps:

First I measured my frame dimensions for the paper:

Step 2: I drew and cut the paper (with a blade) to the dimensions of the outside of the frame.

Step 3: I drew out the measurements on the back of the paper with a pencil, and cut out the middle.

Lastly I brushed the Mod Podge on the frame and smoothed the paper onto the frame, being careful to eliminate bubbles. Then one coat of Mod Podge went over the top of the paper.

Mirror After

AFTER

The scrapbook paper was the perfect addition to the gallery wall. The spray paint finishes the frame nicely around the edges.  Stay tuned to see what else lies in store for Hailey’s wall.

2 Comments

  1. Posted July 23, 2010 at 10:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Sarah, this wall is beautiful! I love the colors, and the scrapbook paper is perfect.
    I wish you lived closer so you could come decorate my house.

  2. Posted July 23, 2010 at 7:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the compliment Brianne! I wish we lived closer too and the kids could play while we decorated. 🙂

One Trackback

  1. […] more thrift store finds and tutorials, see Mirror Mirror and The Gift of […]

Leave a Reply

