Coffee Table with Character

One of the glories of new-married life is free furniture. We were given a sturdy oak coffee table and I was excited to paint it. Unfortunately, I do not have the original picture of my coffee table, but here is a photo of a similar table that represents its original look (from Craigslist):

Ugly! Right? So, I decided to try to paint it white to brighten up my living room. Here it is after sanding, a coat of primer, and 3 coats of white paint.

Because the table is so Big and so White, I thought tan stripes might add an eye-catching effect. I used painter’s paper to make a mock-up.

This was a fresh, unique look, and I decided to make it permanent. First, I taped straight lines to the table and started painting, making sure to hold a wet cloth to wipe away smudges along the edges.

Only one coat of tan paint; and the table was finished.

In my living room:

3 Comments

  1. Bonnie Carrell
    Posted July 30, 2010 at 8:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Anna, that exact style of coffee table was given to me and I also painted it white. That was a very creative touch to add the stripes. Great idea!

  2. Posted July 30, 2010 at 9:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks so cute Anna! I love the stripes and really like the legs on that table – it was worth painting.

  3. Anna
    Posted July 30, 2010 at 5:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you, I hope I’ll love the look for many years!

Leave a Reply

