Five Dollar-Five Minute Frame

It’s a great feeling to double the surface area of a picture by finding the right mat and frame! This Birdie print is from Etsy.com ($12). It is a 5 x 7 ” print in need of some extra inches. I bought a  mat ($1.99) and frame (1.99) separately from a local thrift store. . . great deal!

The frame was a plain oak color, so I brought out the spray paint. I chose grey to make it stand out from my white walls.

After spray-painting a quick coat, I let the frame dry for 2 hours. The paint turned out fairly glossy and had a blue-tint, so I tore a small strip of sand-paper and sanded away at the paint to give it an aged-look. The new picture is now 4″ thicker on all sides!

One Comment

  1. Posted August 3, 2010 at 7:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    Nice job Anna! I can’t believe the finish turned out so red/brown, it looks gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

