Sprucing up a Pig: Painting Ceramic

When we moved to our current apartment and I began decorating Hailey’s first bedroom, I “spotted” this piggy bank in a shop and loved it. But at $18-19 per pig I decided to wait. Waiting paid off when I picked up a plain white piggy bank at the Salvation Army on their 50% off day for $1.00! I drew polka-dots on the pig with a crayon, which rubbed off easily to correct mistakes.

I carefully filled in the circles with pink Americana Gloss Enamels paint (which bakes onto ceramic), and applied some paint to his little snout.

And added black dots for the eyes and snout.

Then I set him on a baking tray and baked him according to the directions on the tube of paint. And Hailey now has a cute piggy bank that cost only $7.00. And a DIY project is so much more fun to look at than something you purchased, isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

