DIY Frugal Nursery Decor

WE HAVE REDIRECTED OUR BLOG TO MOUSE + HINGE. PLEASE VISIT US THERE!

I am obviously in love with frugal DIY decor. This week’s piggy bank post got me thinking about other nursery decor ideas on the cheap. Being on a tight budget and in a temporary apartment, I needed to keep the cost down while decorating Hailey’s first nursery. Luckily there are tons of great DIY nursery decor ideas in the blogosphere that can be done on a budget, gold just waiting to be mined by ME!

These are the paper pompoms that hang in Hailey’s nursery. You can either buy the Martha Stewart kit here for $17.99, order them from Etsy, or make them yourself like I did using these directions from Suburban Bliss (the most frugal option at only a few dollars for all three).

 A clothesline with baby clothes is another cheap (even possibly free) idea for a nursery wall. Below I have used a ribbon I had on hand, clothespins I owned, Hailey’s shoes that didn’t fit at the time, dresses that belonged to me as a baby, and cards that complement the nursery colors. Using vintage or handmade baby clothes will create an eyecatchingly cute wall.

And for those of you who can sew, how about some poopless and quite adorable birds for your nursery?

Bird Mobile via DIY Showoff

And for those of you who don’t sew, get a load of these DIY no-sew curtains complete with instructions from Young House Love.

Repurpose some old frames from around your house by painting them to complement your nursery and fill them with some free artwork from Feed Your Soul.

Have you done some budget nursery decorating in your house? Leave us a comment to tell us what you did, or upload your photos to our Facebook page.

One Comment

  1. Posted October 10, 2011 at 1:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    I decorated wooden letters to spell out my baby’s name instead of purchasing them from Etsy or other (pricey) sources online! I wrote a tutorial about what I did and posted it to my blog.http://adventuresinbaby.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/diy-nursery-letter-tutorial/

Leave a Reply

