Painted End Table Before and After


Remember the end table I started painting a few weeks ago? (If you missed this post, check it out here.) I FINALLY finished it and am so glad to be done! I started with this $12 Craigslist piece in all it’s shiny varnished and tarnished glory:

Our last post ended with it primed and ready for paint:

In the last week I sanded down the primer with super fine grit sandpaper, and rolled on three layers of Martha Stewart Salt Glaze with foam mini rollers, using a trimming and edging brush like this.I lightly sanded between coats. (I hoped the paint would turn out more noticeably blue/grey, but it looks quite white. I think I’m growing to really like it, however.)

After the paint was dry, I lightly sanded again, wiped the piece with tack cloth to get the crumbs off, and applied a layer of Minwax Gloss Wipe-On Poly. I ran out of the poly, so I will apply one more coat before this piece reaches perfection. A fact about me: I hate, despise errands. This has only happened to me since having a baby in need of naps and diaper changes and constant food. So if I can finagle my way around leaving the house for an errand, I will! No one has ever spread a tiny amount of Wipe On Poly as far as I did.

Table: $12
Sandpaper: $3
Paint: Around $8 (I need to write these things down!)
Tack Cloth: $2
Wipe-On Poly: Already owned
Total Cost: $25

The final product has lightened up our previously very dark living room, and I think I love it!

5 Comments

  1. Pam
    Posted August 19, 2010 at 10:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful Sarah, love it!! I thought it was pretty with the original finish, but the white really makes it stand out, nice work!

    • Posted August 19, 2010 at 10:05 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Mom! Next is your cupboards (?)

  2. Patsy
    Posted August 21, 2010 at 7:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Your painted projects are simply beautiful. I wanted to mention to you however that painting the poly over things will in time turn yellow. Yes, poly will yellow. Also, if you use a quality paint on your projects, the poly is not really necessary. Just thought I’d mention this.

    • Posted August 21, 2010 at 3:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Patsy. Thanks for the heads up! I think my next poly purchase will be water-based poly. I’ve heard that it doesn’t yellow, although it’s more expensive. Thanks for the tip about using quality paint – I suppose I would use a gloss instead of a flat then?

  3. Posted February 26, 2011 at 7:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, this is really an amazing find. I’m jealous that you found it for $12!? on craigslist!

Leave a Reply

