Nursery Project: Two-toned Coat Rack

Hailey, Jerod and I are feeling a bit under the weather. Hailey and I laid low yesterday, snuggled on the couch and watched a movie last night while Jerod was gone at youth group. I have a nice short post for you today due to the lack of project energy. We are in the nursery again (and if you want more ideas, make sure you check out my post on frugal nursery decor).

I grabbed up this shelf at $2.99 at the Salvation Army, in need of new paint and a bit of glue as the back was detaching from one of the sides.

I painted the outside of the shelf/rack with the same paint used for my end table: “Salt Glaze” from Valspar’s Martha Stewart line available at Home Depot. I wanted to tie in the paint from Hailey’s dresser (“Pooh’s Favorite Things” from Behr’s Disney line), so I painted the pegs and inside of the coat rack with the darker paint. I love two-toned painted look. After the paint was dry, I applied Minwax Water Based Polyurethane
with a brush. I then rearranged a bit and decided this would be a good place to display Hailey’s piggy bank.

Other two-toned looks I love:

Rearranged Design

Young House Love

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 26, 2010 at 8:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    super cute!

Leave a Reply

