Fashion a Mock Chandelier

For months I have wanted a airy, delicate chandelier. I wasn’t interested in using it for a light fixture, knowing that a cord would have to be strung. A corner of my living room needed to be filled and I was ready to see something hang from my ceiling. Rooms seem to be more complete with lamps of all different heights along with decor hanging from the ceiling. I thought about purchasing a Capiz Shell Mobile from Etsy.com, but chose to find a more inexpensive option. While walking through the aisles of Jo Anne Fabrics and Hobby Lobby, I found

I started by arranging and bundling the Silver Dollar stems together. The petals were difficult to work with and would tangle, but it was fun to experience flower arranging. After quickly wrapping two floral wires around the bunch, I made the stems flare outward like a chandelier shape.

Next, I placed the two ostrich feathers on the outer edges of the ‘chandelier.’ The feathers filled in any gaps between the petals and added the airy look that I wanted. Finally I wrapped stems with white floral tape the and stopped 5″ from the top of the stems. I curled the ends of the stems to further add to the chandelier look. These ends were then ready to cover in white tape.

Lastly, I evenly wrapped the white pearl pearl branches around the bundle’s stem. I was glad to see that this added even more elegance to my ceiling decor.

Floral wire made it easy to hang the ‘chandelier,’ I simply fashioned a loop with the wire and wound it around a hook that I screwed into the ceiling. Someday, I would like to place a tall, thin lamp underneath the ‘chandelier’ to shine light through the silver dollars, which could serve as a lamp shade material.

3 Comments

  1. Sam
    Posted August 31, 2010 at 9:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    That looks great, Anna!

  2. Bonnie Carrell
    Posted August 31, 2010 at 9:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Amazing creativity Anna!

  3. Anna
    Posted August 31, 2010 at 7:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Sam and Bonnie! What a fun project. It sort of developed over a couple weeks!

Leave a Reply

