Upholstered Headboard Project

By adding a homemade headboard, I gave my thirty five dollar bed-frame a major makeover. Truthfully, this headboard project was intimidating, but it was much easier than I had expected. Knowing my budget, I didn’t attempt to shop for a headboard- this was a great opportunity to challenge myself to finding a good deal. Hobby Lobby had sales all over the store, so everything I found was at least 30% off.

Supplies (Headboard for Queen size bed):

Batting: 60” x 45″

Fabric: 1 3/4 Yards (crushed pintuck taffeta)

Foam Board: 60″ x 40″

Staple Gun, Staples

Duct tape (I used white)

Time spent on project: 40 minutes shopping; 40 minutes creating.

Money Spent: $29.50 !

Step 1- Line up the foam board side by side with the longest sides touching. Duct tape the long sides of the three foam boards together. Tape a few layers along the sides to reduce any flexing.

Step 2- Lay batting down and place the taped foam board over-top. Wrap batting tightly around edges of foam board and use staple gun to staple the batting to the foam board. It helps to space out the staples to make sure the batting is evenly fastened, then you can go back and staple in the gaps. Cut away any excess batting.

Step 3- Using the same method as the batting, staple the fabric over the batting and foam board. Be sure to staple the fabric with the right side showing. If there is a pattern in the fabric, make sure it will be properly lined up. Wrap corners tightly and staple. Then cut off the excess fabric.

Step 4- Finished! My headboard slid right behind my bed and stays supported by the mattresses. This headboard adds so much color and texture to our room! I love the fact that I didn’t have to tuft the fabric to give it texture.

In need of textured fabric? Go to home decor fabric from Jo Ann Fabrics.com.

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 8, 2010 at 9:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    This looks so good Anna! I can’t believe that you used foam board.

  2. Megan Pester
    Posted September 8, 2010 at 10:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! Good job Anna! This looks amazing.

  3. Dustie
    Posted November 10, 2010 at 11:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey I like your blog!
    These are cool projects!
    also…I was noticing your pillow cases match my duvet cover…lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

