Five Dollar Friday: Fall Decor Week 2

It’s time for another Five Dollar Friday, the theme being Fall Decor. Neither Anna nor I have a large budget for seasonal decorations, so we love the challenge of purchasing fall decorations for $5 or less each week. With some bargain shopping go-tos like the thrift store and Dollar Tree, we can easily meet the challenge.

Sarah:

My find this week was not only under $5, but it also required no further improvement. I bought these small ceramic pumpkins from Dollar Tree. I contemplated painting them completely white, but I decided I liked them as they are.

They found a home atop Jerod’s prized Melville novels we bought while on vacation in Monterey a few years ago. Call us nerdy, but some of our favorite haunts while on vacation are used bookstores. We decided on that Monterey trip that we would begin replacing our paperback classics with antique hardbacks whenever possible. Not only do they make bookshelves look nicer, they also stack well to create more visual interest. Tip: if you are like us and have a lot of paperbacks and a few nice hardbacks, corral the nice-looking hardbacks together on the top shelf where they will stand out from the rest and catch they eye. This will detract interest from the beaten and battered papers on the lower shelves.

So there it is – $3 for my cute little pumpkins.

Did you miss last week’s Five Dollar Friday? Check it out here. If you would like to join in the fun, email your before/after photos to roomtothink@gmail.com.

Anna:

This week I went more traditional with my findings and bought a set of autumn placemats and napkins. I found these at a local thrift store for $3.99 for the set! Hopefully next week I can find some chargers to match and bring out the bold colors in the fabric. I’m in need  for some napkin rings that will play-up the fall theme on my table.


The set all together looks very nice and matches my table quite well. All for only $3.99!

5 Comments

  1. Patsy
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 10:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love your $5 Friday’s and enjoy seeing the bargains you get and then make beautiful. I might participate in the future if that is OK. I don’t have a blog though. Am I still welcome to participate? Thanks

    • Posted September 10, 2010 at 10:17 am | Permalink | Reply

      We would LOVE your participation, blog or not! Just send us your photos and details sometime before Friday and we’ll include them in our post. 🙂 The remainder of September is Fall Decor theme.
      roomtothink@gmail.com

  2. Pam
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 1:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great fall finds girls!!

  3. Patsy
    Posted September 10, 2010 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you, look forward to participating.

Leave a Reply

