Five Dollar Friday: Fall Decor Week 6

Sarah:

I’m a Five Dollar Friday loner this week, but that’s ok! For the rest of October, our Five Dollar Friday theme will be fragrances – stay tuned to see what we come up with! And if you want to join us, send your projects by Thursday to roomtothink@gmail.com.

This week blew in another leaf craft for me. I had these three old frames I bought at a garage sale this summer for $1 apiece.

And I picked up these leaves on the side of the road yesterday. I pressed them for a few hours in a heavy book to prevent any curl-uppage.

The leaves needed a bit of sparkle, so I brushed on the leftover paint from last week’s post.

After cleaning off the dust and grime from the old frames/glass, I cut to size some acid free mat boards I had on hand (the acid free part is great, because it means my leaves will last for many years to come). I used some scrapbooking double-stick tape to attach the leaves to the mats and reassembled the frames.

And here they are on my wall, in a spot that was in need of a makeover! $3.00 for my total project!

 

Did you miss our other Five Dollar Fridays? See them here: Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5.

4 Comments

  1. Jessica Cowan
    Posted October 10, 2010 at 8:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sarah, I love these!!! I think I’m going to have to try this for sure!

    • Posted October 10, 2010 at 10:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks Jess! You should make some for your new casa!

  2. Posted October 11, 2010 at 10:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    i especially love the term “curl-uppage”
    you girls are too cute. 🙂

    • Posted October 11, 2010 at 11:37 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Brianne! 🙂 Yeah I was debating on the spelling of that one!

Leave a Reply

