Sassy Zebra Print Poster

WE HAVE REDIRECTED OUR BLOG TO MOUSE + HINGE. PLEASE VISIT US THERE!

During an attempt at an afternoon nap, I became fixated on the empty wall-space above my headboard. I thought of  the wall-decals at Hobby Lobby, but I didn’t want to spend $25 on wall-space that I should just be content with.  Then, I thought about the uses of contact paper on a white wall. This idea didn’t seem ideal because contact paper would not correctly stick to the wall. When I finally decided my plan, I immediately drove to Wal-Mart for supplies, or rather ONE supply: Foam Board!

My design was to create a Zebra picture for above our bed. My aim has been to create a more modern bedroom to compensate for some of my traditional/vintage apartment decor. I purchased black folding foam board ($8) and gathered scissors and contact paper. What an easy project!

The trick was to cut out lines that weren’t to curvy but not to straight either. It helped to use a picture of zebra print from my phone as a reference. I laid the strips of un-peeled contact paper onto the foam board before peeling them.

Sometimes Zebra print is over-done and it probably won’t be in style for forever, so I’m glad I only spent $8 and 30 minutes on this project!

The DIY Show Off

6 Comments

  1. Posted October 13, 2010 at 10:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Anna that looks amazing! Great job!

  2. Megan Pester
    Posted October 18, 2010 at 9:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow woman! How creative, it turned out great!

  3. Posted October 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! It seems very simple way to make one. It turned out fantastic!! I’m in love with animal prints. I’m wondering if we can make leopard. I’ve done DIY projects and posted on http://www.makemania.com Hop on and swap DIY ideas and feel free to promote your blog!

  4. Anna
    Posted October 20, 2010 at 10:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Sophia! I love animal prints too, it seems like a stencil would be ideal for trying out a leopard print. Let me know if you ever try it out!

  5. Posted March 10, 2011 at 12:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome project!!! ha ha…i guess it won’t be too hard to create a leopard print also..

  6. Posted March 1, 2012 at 1:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i was just looking at this and i REALLY wanna do this for my daughter. Can you tell me where I can find Contact paper? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

