Five Dollar Friday: Fragrances Week 3

Anna

How about a homemade fragrance? Here is a recipe that I wrapped in cellophane and gave as a gift last year. It will make someone’s home smell festive and welcoming. To keep the cost down, this is a great idea for if you already have the major ingredients at home. Sometimes spices can add up in price.

3 cinnamon sticks

3 bay leaves

1/4 cup whole cloves

1 teaspoon ground cloves

2 lemon slices

2 tablespoons orange peel

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 quart water

Combine all of the ingredients into medium saucepan and simmer on the stove in shallow water, adding water as needed

Sarah:

When I worked in San Diego, my coworkers and I stayed in a Doubletree Hotel. One of my coworkers had been staying at the hotel for so long that the guys at the front desk gave him the same room each week. To make his room more homey, he would hide candles on top of the armoire to burn each week in his room, and apparently housekeeping never found them.

Well, with my $4.15 find there is no reason for hiding candles in your hotel room. While at Sears buying a new stapler for my reupholstery project, I decided to browse the candles – not really expecting to find anything for $5 or under. However, I found an amazing-smelling tea leaf and citrus travel candle on sale for $4.15!

Open and lit:

Closed and ready for travel! (I wish I could get ready to hit the road that easily.)

Leave a Reply

