Mesmerizing Geometric Art

Geometric classic artwork are are everywhere online and they finally made it into my home! Not to mention, my blank canvases have finally found a purpose. Thankfully their purpose is to decorate our office room. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with the canvases (Five for $15 at Michaels) but when I finally picked them up, the inspiration hit. Thanks to Young House Love‘s photoshop prints they created, I had enough confidence to try to copy Crate and Barrel as well. My design idea came mostly from artwork from Crate and Barrel (6 prints for $370). Obviously, my budget doesn’t allow for spending that kind of money, so I found some supplies to copy the idea:

3 Canvases

Fabric Markers

Thick paper (for stencils)

Ruler & Pencil

The project was so simple, and probably the most fun one so far because I felt like I was in a junior high art class. First, I created stencils to trace onto the canvas. My first was a clover design

The stecil was then traced onto the canvas in an orderly fashion, leaving equal spaces on all sides.

Then, using fabric markers, I traced the pencil lines over and gave the design a thicker look

.

I repeated this process for the next three designs, one using a square stencil, the other using a circle…so easy!

As with all projects, I’m sure this will be transformed even more in the upcoming months. My first goal is to possibly stain the edges to age the picture and make it more like the Crate and Barrel prints. I also would like to figure out frames for the canvases someday. As for now, I am pretty content with finally putting color up onto our office walls.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Patsy
    Posted November 5, 2010 at 12:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those are great, you are so talented. Is there a reason why they are hung that high? I would bring them down to the light switch. Thanks for this great project.

  2. Anna
    Posted November 5, 2010 at 9:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you! I had considered hanging them lower, but the upper half of my walls needed attention. I plan to use a taller lamp to blend in the missing space!

Leave a Reply

