Five Dollar Friday: Floral Arrangements

Anna:

I found inspiration for this week from floral pomanders that can be found in many weddings and events. My floral arrangement idea didn’t end up including any fresh flowers or floral tape, but I was very happy with the results!  Last month, I purchased potpourri for the fragrance Fridays, and I was able to use the potpourri for this months project too. Here are the list of supplies to make the Potpourri Pomander:
Potpourri
Hot Glue Gun
Floral Foam Half-Ball
Thick Ribbon
Pins


At first, it seemed like the idea was not going to work, but luckily everything seemed to fall into place. I started by gluing the potpourri objects to the foam with the hot glue gun. Then, after the entire floral foam was covered, I started layering with the prettier pieces of potpourri.


I then tacked ribbon to the back of the foam ball with pins so that it can be hung. The foam ball didn’t hang very well because it was so weighed down, so it looked top-heavy. I fixed this by simply hanging it at the end of our doorway, so that you can’t see the back-side of it from any angle. I would love to hear ideas about how to help it hang more evenly on the wall!

Sarah:


My floral arrangement this week also did not include any flowers. However, it was totally free! I was driving into my apartment complex and noticed a perfect pine branch in the driveway this week, and since I saw two ladies with strollers rapidly approaching, naturally I jumped out and grabbed it before they got their hands on that hot commodity. (Ok, I’m probably the only crazy who would actually pick it up off the ground.)

 

A little water, a little cutting, and two pears on two half-skewers, and all it needs is a partridge to be a perfect gift for the first day of Christmas.

2 Comments

  1. Patsy
    Posted November 19, 2010 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very pretty, as always!!

  2. Posted November 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it! There is nothing like free winter decor!

    You did a fabulous job! :o)

Leave a Reply

