Friday: Favorite DIY Christmas Gifts

I featured DIY Christmas gifts a few months ago, but thought it would be worth showing a few more winners I have found:
Fabric-covered Little Girl’s Chair:

Jenny at Little Green Notebook found this adorable kid-sized fabric-covered chair at ABC for $170, and tells us how to DIY one with a $16.99 chair from Ikea!

DIY Mercury Glass

I love mercury glass, but it is a bit expensive for my budget. Did you know you can DIY this glass with Krylon Looking Glass Mirror-Like Paint? Get the details at Deliciously Organized.

Fruity Napkins:

This is a Martha Stewart DIY (which I think the mercury glass was originally, too). This idea looks easy enough for non-seamstresses to do, which is the kind of sewing I like! See the instructions here.

Stenciled Tray:

This beautiful tray from Isabella and Max Rooms started out as a plain wood tray. Such a gorgeous transformation!

Glass Etching with DIY Stencil:


How cheap is this project from How About Orange, using another Ikea item – a cheap glass vase. Check out how Jessica used contact paper, a hole punch, scissors, and etching cream to create this mod piece.

4 Comments

  1. Anna
    Posted December 11, 2010 at 8:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    these are so cool, Sarah!

  2. Posted December 13, 2010 at 3:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m going to try the mercury glass DIY. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    • Posted December 13, 2010 at 4:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Awesome! Definitely let us know – I looked for the looking glass krylon at Michael’s today and couldn’t find it…

      • Posted December 14, 2010 at 10:09 am | Permalink

        I bought the chrome Krylon from Michaels last night. I’ll let you know- I’m hoping to get to that project today.

Leave a Reply

