Creative Christmas Card Display

Who doesn’t need somewhere to display Christmas cards? There are several ideas of stringing cards over a window or fireplace, but I wanted something a little different. This year, I decided to use the most used resources of Christmas: wrapping paper, tape, ribbon and a cardboard box. Because we live in an apartment with limited storage space, I wanted a display that could be torn down and re-made next year.

First, I broke-down a cardboard box into a long 4-foot strip and drew out the shape of a tree. After scoring the cardboard with a scissor, the cardboard could tear easily into the shape. Then, I cut one piece of wrapping paper into the proper shape, leaving room to fold over the cardboard. I tacked down the wrapping paper with tape and staples. The last step was to wrap ribbon around the tree and tack it in the back. The cards can then slide into the ribbon straps. If I had felt fabric, I would have used that instead of ribbon to give a more textured look.

This is a great craft for kids to join in and help!

Leave a Reply

