Armour Etch Glass Designs

Originally, I discovered Armour Etch from Sarah’s Christmas-gift blog post and I decided to give it a try. Armour Etch is specially made to create permanently etched designs on vases, glasses, windows and mirrors. The process only takes a few minutes and gives glassware a unique look. My idea of decorating the numbered glass cups came from our trip to Cannon Beach where we found all sorts of decor ideas. I’m so glad I actually came around to using one of the ideas.

To begin, I purchased a fine paintbrush ($2) and Armour Etch ($10). Fortunately, Salvation Army had a glassware sale buy one get one free! So I purchased 4 tall cups with the coolest stems.

Other materials include scissors, contact paper and exacto knife (optional)

First, I traced numbers onto a square of contact paper and cut a slit into the square to start outlining the number. The contact paper was tricky to stick on, but this is how it looked.

Then the application of the Armour Etch. It was applied even  thicker than this picture. It is meant to be globbed onto the glass, dry for one minute, then rinsed off in the sink. After the cup is rinsed, it is okay to take the contact paper or stencil off of the cup to see the results. The Etch did bleed through a little from the contact paper, but since the etching is so faint it is hardly noticeable.

Here are the results! As you can see, it is a very faint etching but it is sure fun to have an accented glass. I also etched my glass salt and pepper shakers, which turned out cute. I’ll experiment some more with my other glassware to see if the etching can be made more noticeable.

 

2 Comments

  1. Posted January 14, 2011 at 8:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love them Anna! Great job!

  2. Mom
    Posted January 14, 2011 at 10:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    Fun idea, they look great!! Please do more!

Leave a Reply

