My Apartamento Bathroom

I really despise our apartment-y bathroom, but for under $50 I was able to give it a mini-makeover, adding a bit of visual interest.

Here are the before pictures:

The three cylinder glass vases above the toilet are from the dollar store. I used this DIY idea to cover them with some extra canvas I have leftover from building my art canvases. The canvas had been washed, giving it a nice wrinkled/textured look.

First I ironed three edges for a clean look:

Then I hot-glued the un-ironed edge to the glass cylinder, and wrapped the canvas around, hot-gluing the other edge on top of the first.

Wah-lah!

And here they are storing my rag-tag necklace collection. I know, I need help in the jewelry arena:

My other bathroom project was these scrolly wooden frames I found at Pier 1 for only $32 for the two of them. Someday they may get a coat of paint, but white is great for our apartment. They didn’t come with mirrors in them, just glass for pictures. I thought they would be funny-looking with such tiny pictures (plus I don’t like a lot of pictures behind glass in our steamy bathroom where they can get damaged) so I ordered 4″x4″ mirrors from eBay and they were just what the frames called for.

2 Comments

  1. Posted February 7, 2011 at 6:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    nice little face lift indeed!

  2. Posted February 26, 2011 at 7:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have those same picture frames in my bedroom! Like you, I thought they needed mirrors, but I used some sheet mirror stuff from Joann’s that could be cut with scissors.
    They look great in your bathroom!

Leave a Reply

