Madelyn’s Dresser – French Provincial Dresser, Take II

WE HAVE REDIRECTED OUR BLOG TO MOUSE + HINGE. PLEASE VISIT US THERE!

I’m afraid I have had (or made) no time for blogging lately, but I wanted to give some quick updates of my projects I’ve made time for while being pregnant, the first one being our baby’s dresser. Baby Madelyn is due to be born in a mere 6 weeks (!) so I’ve been busy getting her room put together and hanging up sweet little newborn clothes.

I found this French Provincial dresser on Craigslist for $40, which I’m finding out is a STEAL! I’d checked Craigslist for months trying to find a similar piece to the one in Hailey’s room, only to discover that they typically run from $200 to $400.

BEFORE:

The dresser came painted in a flat pink color with gold trim. I had found a mistinted grey semi-gloss Olympic no VOC paint at Lowe’s for $5. I have been sticking with the no-VOC paints while pregnant, and probably will continue to due to small children being in the house. I love that there are no smelly gases coming off the walls into our home.

I primed the gold paint on the dresser with Olympic no-VOC primer, then painted the whole thing with a mini foam roller, giving it 2-3 thin coats to keep the paint smooth. I painted the hardware with Rustoleum’s oil-rubbed-bronze spray paint, which I had also done on Hailey’s dresser. I coated the whole dresser with two coats of water-based polyurethane for protection and added gloss.

You may remember my Ung Drill of yore, I’ve now updated it for Madelyn’s room and I think it looks great against her turquoise wall (Olympic’s Serendipity). I grabbed some fabric at Jo-Ann’s along with a wooden letter and some grey paint for a total of $8. I then spray-mounted the fabric to the backing board (formerly the chalkboard), painted the letter grey, and hot-glued the letter to the fabric. The fabric wasn’t quite firmly mounted enough to hold the wooden letter, so I used my electric stapler to staple it from behind in a few places. Since the dresser will double as a changing table, I wanted to minimize the chance of a heavy letter falling onto our little baby.

AFTER:

French Provincial Dresser and Ikea Ung Drill

3 Comments

  1. krystn
    Posted July 30, 2011 at 10:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ok now sarah, how do you go about painting the hardware? like remove it first? probably…im kinda answering as i ask 🙂 hasta manana. i love your page i wish you would post more
    -krystn

  2. Jenn
    Posted November 21, 2011 at 7:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    We used foam rollers when painting our french provincial dressers for our nursery and ended up with an assortment of bubbles all over the furniture that we needed to sand off. Did you have the same experience when refinishing this piece?

    • Posted November 21, 2011 at 8:19 am | Permalink | Reply

      No, that’s so strange! Did you prime? What type of paint did you use?

Leave a Reply

