1920

Excuses…excuses. I have to admit it has been a very long time since I have posted. Sarah has been so good about keeping up her projects and posting them when she should! But here are my 2 excuses this time: 1) I had to take a diamond grading course that filled most of my free time outside of work and church activities and 2) I was afraid of posting photos of my house when there have been so many burglaries happening in my part of town. BUT the robbers have been caught (today!) ūüėČ

We have now been in this rental house for nearly a year. The fact that I’m living in an old house is a surprise to me, considering the fact that I never liked reading my mom’s Country Living Magazine. Now there’s a Country Living Magazine sitting on my coffee table. My taste might have begun with my favorite¬†children’s¬†book called ‘1920.’ It’s about a house that never changed over the century, while its neighborhood transitioned from a¬†farm-town¬†to a bustling city street. I daydream about the families that have lived here and what they dressed like and if they farmed!

Here are the photos of when we were first touring the house!

Image

I think Built-ins are an given “yes” to a house. The fireplace was stained this color and is so amazing.Sarah recently stained her fireplace the same way and it turned out great as well! The green carpet is unique and hard to keep vacuumed but I still like it. Check out the windows!

Image

Cute old kitchen with original sink. No dishwasher, but it teaches you hard work as well as team work. Wait till you see the dresser I painted for my kitchen! That will be a future post. I feel like a grown up with my pantry (another future post)!

Image

The bathroom is fairly large but the shower is small because curtains encircle the whole tub to protect the walls.

Image

So there is my introduction to the house. My next post will be the newly settled house, which is a bit messier!

One Comment

  1. Kate Sousa
    Posted April 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m excited to see what you’ve done with the house!

Leave a Reply

